Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Minotaur for portfolio

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Gabriel Fors polycounter lvl 8
Hi guys!

I'm currently working on a portfolio for when I head out on my internships(I'm studying at Playground Squad, Falun, Sweden) and I'm looking for some tips and feedback.

This is a minotaur I made based on Paul Bonner's "The minotaur" sort of as a way to work from a difficult (and awsome) concept picture. It's not perfect, but I'm kind of pleased with it.

Minotaur
beautyshotfront.jpg
beautyshotback.jpg
breakdown.jpg
flats.jpg

Axe closeup
beautyshotaxe.jpg
breakdown-1.jpg
flats-1.jpg

I'm gonna remove some of the grunge from the axehead "shaft". It's a bit cluttered.

Lay it on me. :D

Replies

• conte
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    conte polycounter lvl 18
    hah man, that's awesome!!
  • Tumerboy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tumerboy polycounter lvl 17
    HA HA! Dude, that's the greatest minotaur I've seen in a very long time. Tons of character. nice job man.
  • jocose
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jocose polycounter lvl 11
    I like it, good job.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thats awesome nice work!

Crits:
    - The nostrils kind of bug me, too much build up around the rim and they don't really look like they go anywhere, they're like big moon craters.
    The hair on the back could be blended a wee bit better, probably just darkening the diffuse underneath or painting some subtle hair on the diffuse of the body. Also lightening up the hair the farther away from the body will help soften it up and help recreate how light effects fur.
    - The horns are a little weird, they have a sunken depression. Horns do have that depression but its normally under the surface of the skin, you only see it when you strip off the flesh.
    - His pose is a bit off balance, looks like he might fall forward.

Other than those minor things is awesome really nice work!