Home Technical Talk

Creating a matte window texture

rares
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
rares polycounter lvl 9
Hy guys ! i'm trying to create a matte glass texture for the windows of a car. I've never done this before , so the first thing i tried was using an hdri enviroment and baking the reflections to get a base for the glass look, the problem with that is that there is no way , as far as i can tell, to bake reflections independent of a camera ( i'm using batch bake in mental ray)...granted i could bake separate maps from a view that favourises each window and then cut and paste the good bits in a final map, but i wonder if there isn't an easier way.
How do you guys make textures for matte glass ?

Replies

• Ben Apuna
  • rares
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rares polycounter lvl 9
    That's the kinda thing i had in mind, except that instead of using a cube to extract my reflection i want to be able to use the meshes for the windows to do that.
    I don't think that chopping up a cube map would give a good result because the windows are slanted and convex, and they'd reflect the enviroemnt differentely than the straight faces of a cube
  • Ben Apuna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    No, you don't want to chop up the cube map and apply it as a mapped texture. You need to find a way to hook it up in your shader to give off proper real time reflections.

I might be totally misunderstanding what you are trying to do here.

If you want a render of these windows with reflections. Then the other way to handle it is to turn on raytracing and actually have something in your scene for the windows to reflect. A good cheat is too just have a environment image mapped to a cylinder or half sphere which surrounds your object.

Sorry for the short reply earlier, I was heading off to sleep and figured the info on the wiki page would be self explanitory.
  • rares
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rares polycounter lvl 9