Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Environment: Ruins

spahr
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
spahr polycounter lvl 8
Hey Everyone, this will be my first project WIP thread. I havent done environments in about 1 year since I graduated from art school. Ive been working mostly on vehicles and various props. So here is my crack at getting back in it.

A few things I'm hoping to gain from this, is a solid understanding of mudbox and transferring that into more hand painted textures. Along with bringing it into Unreal 3(most of my knowledge comes from 2004), which I would like to try and tinker around with some interesting lighting, water effects. So this is really a blank canvas type of project, just a spot where I can keep working on new things.

Here is a quick grey block of what I'm thinking the layout will be. I just wanted to do a pretty little fountain, all overgrown, with an old temple building in the background with a big tree growing out of the side.
greyblock.jpg

And to get practicing with mudbox I did a few simple stone bits.
cobblestoneq.jpgstepss.jpg

There were a few more props, but I wont bore you with the details :), they just look a lot like those but are railings and pillars.

If there is anything youd like to C&C on, please feel free.

Cheers

Replies

• jocose
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jocose polycounter lvl 11
    Hi Spahr,

This looks like a good start, my only comment is on the tree roots. Usually tree roots have a more complex shape than just a cylinder. Right now they kind of look like tentacles. Tropical tree roots tend to branch and also have flat sides and rounded tops. They will also change shape from flat to round and many times other roots will travel along an existing root. So you don't often see single large roots.

Here is an example: http://www.highonadventure.com/Hoa07apr/Vicki/Ceiba%20Tree%20Roots%20Spread%20Across%20Jungle%20Floors.JPG

http://img2.photographersdirect.com/img/19309/wm/pd1708284.jpg
  • spahr