Home Technical Talk

How to rig a weapon/shield

Hey guys,

i am new on side, awesome stuff here great art!

I found the thread from Marshal Banana with the same question but i didn't get the point how to do it.

I build a character and a rig but i am a bit unsure how to add a weapon and a shield to an existing rig. I am new in this field and have really no idea how to do it.

knightrigging.jpg

here is my theory starting point:

for the shield:
- i will use one bone from the hip(root bone to the shield). From there i would skin the shield 100% to the bone which should be snapped the handbone. -> parent contraint?

Sword:
- two different bones from the hip to the sword.

but how should i append the weapon with the weaponsleve to the rig? they share they rotation values as long as the blade is not drawn or pulled by the Hand. How should i add a parameter/constraint which changes there rotation dependence from the leg to a parent constraint of the Hand. something like a snapfunction?

positionsword.jpg

Here is a screen of the actual character.

charactertexturingdone.jpg

rigging2.jpg

And here is the rig.

riggings.jpg

The character should drag the blade except the weaponsleve which should stay in position and bounce in dependence of the leg movement.

I am a bit on a stony path I hope someone can put me in the right direction.

thanks in advance
Cody

PS: CC is also welcome

Replies

• omegalith
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi, sorry I can not help you but I wanted to bump this thread and see if anyone else can help you. I am also new to rigging and I am going to have issues similar to this one soon. Hope someone can help us!
  • Krynn72
    Options
    Offline / Send Message