Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] - Victor Cortis, Modeler

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
vcortis polycounter lvl 9
http://victorcortis.com

Hey, I'm an aspiring Character/Environment modeler graduating in one semester from Purdue University. I just returned from Siggraph 2009 and after talking to Sam from Insomniac games learned of this forum.

I'm looking for critiques on absolutley everything on my website from demo reel, to portfolio page, to resume, etc.

I'd also love to hear any advice you can give me on modeling.

I'm very concious of my poly counts as of lately, but have been hearing that poly counts DO NOT matter in demo reels, that just showing your ability to model the object with correct edge flow is what matters.

Thank you.

Replies

• Ben Apuna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi welcome to Polycount best place to start looking for good info about portfolios is here:

http://boards.polycount.net/showthread.php?t=39516

EDIT:

So far my biggest critique of your site is that it's way too hard to get to any artwork, I've been clicking and waiting and so far nothing... dumping the flash plugins would be the first order of business.

It would be best to just put all your artwork right in my face as soon as your page loads.

Hope that helps at least a little
  • Slave_zero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slave_zero polycounter lvl 8
    I agree with the advice of Ben. It just takes too long to see anythin. Loading times were a bit long in some cases.

Don't split your portfolio in too much subsections. Maybejust differ between Modelling, Drawing and Digital Painting.

To your work:
    Nice drawings. Akthough I don't like the Digital Panitngs. Those pieces are much weaker compared to your drawings. I'd suggest to get rid of the fantasy Environment and the "Death is upon him" Image. They don't benefit your Portfolio imo.