Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Gothic Cathedral (First attempt at hand painting textures)

CounterSeal
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
CounterSeal polycounter lvl 10
Hey everyone. I've been chipping away at this project steadily for the past 2.5 months or so in my spare time. A bit of background info: My main goal of this scene is to more or less nail that "Diablo" feel, especially Diablo 2, with a bit of the texture saturation qualities found in Diablo 3.

This is my first attempt at constructing an entire scene with hand painted textures without any use of photo sources, so it was quite a change in what I was used to, and turned out to be quite a learning experience too. I'm not quite finished with this project yet, as there's still a bit I want to put into the textures and other things that may need to be changed and improved.

The scene, as it is now is just under 31,000 triangles. Everything is diffuse only (64x64 to 512x512), with exception of the treasure chest, which has a simple spec map at the moment, but I may remove that and paint in the specular highlights manually. There are also glow maps for the light rays and candles.

This is still a WIP, and any feedback regarding any aspect of the project would be greatly apreciated.

Renders:
2mcyqus.jpg
33vf63d.jpg
8ywehx.jpg
118lgna.jpg
15d820.jpg
2iuvpl0.jpg

Wireframe Shot:
2ir9rns.jpg

Texture Sheets: Here are just a few of the textures.
2gtz3ao.jpg

Replies

• Alec3d
  • andersh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    andersh polycounter lvl 10
    I think you could bump up the contrast on the chest's wood texture, and maybe add a little more visual noise to it - its looking a little smooth to me. Maybe brighten up the "edges" of the wood planks.

Same for the portal effect texture, maybe put some dark darks in there, some swirly bits or something.

Also, you might get a red glow around the portal?