Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Styilzed Face Quickie

Hey dudes, Chaos V49 here! I was inspired by stuff today that got me wanting to well..just make stuff really. I've been doing Max for around 3 years and I got Zbrush around 3 months ago. I just went ahead and decided to do a small face characature. How is it for my first semi serious sculpt? (and no I don't have a base mesh from max I just done it from a sphere)

NOTE : Please take a look at my Zbrush work thread and see my progress. (I also wanted to do this because I remember somone saying I need to do forms and real anatomy (even if it does suck) instead of some of the stuff you'll see there)

243ox6r.png

Replies

• butt_sahib
    Offline / Send Message
    butt_sahib polycounter lvl 11
    .......right :)
    If this is actually serious, heres what i suggest :)
    You went in on the detail way too quickly,after a quick block-in of the facial features at subd lvl1, you should go in and shape the whole sphere to form the neck,the back of the head,the forehead etc.
    I suggest using a basemesh from someone else to get you going on your faces. Arsh's bust seems like a nice base to get your hands on. Making a simple box in max/maya isnt that hard, you should try that aswell.
    When sculpting, you should probably underlay reference images just to help you place your elements better
    I really cant tell if you didnt add the ears or if you let the whole face ovoid on purpose or not.....
    Watch some zbrush tutorial videos aswell

Good luck :)
  • Chaosv49
    Thanks. It's only a small test. No ears or neck intended really..

Detail? Looks like forms to me and not like cuts and skin alphas or anything.
  • BeatKitano
    Offline / Send Message
    BeatKitano polycounter lvl 16
    I hate to make fun of begginers, but i can't help but think of that:

6154.jpg
  • Chaosv49
    Begginer in Zbrush.

The title is called FACE for a reason.
  • BeatKitano
    Offline / Send Message