Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

...because we all love sci-fi guns!

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
sampson polycounter lvl 9
okay time to make a sci-fi gun from start to finish...
here's my 5 concepts so far.... i've roughly done no 1... veeery roughly painted no 2 .. but i dont want to really paint all of them if they r no good

the general idea i think is "NEEDZ MOAR PANELS and bits that stick out"

i'm not a concept artist i'm a 3d so yup!

33kvdeh.jpg

Replies

• Ro-Sham-Bo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well if you had to pick one from the group i would go with 2 or 3, but to tell you the truth, design about 25 to 50 silhouette and you will find a few in there what really are awesome and new. Always takes me at least 20 to get the generic overused ideas of my my head. Another approach you might find that works for you is look up a ton of gun reference where the guns are all shot from the side like your concepts, and go into photoshop and pick and use pieces from those weapons to create something completely new by using the photos. This really helps with alot of the small parts on guns that are overlooked alot. Hope that helps! lol
  • t4paN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    t4paN polycounter lvl 10
    2 looks nice, but 5 looks really interesting if you could make a proper concept out of it.
  • SHEPEIRO
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SHEPEIRO polycounter lvl 17
    boooooooorrrring i wanted ray guns
  • HAL
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    HAL polycounter lvl 13
    they all look really bulky :/

I dunno how everyone else handles this but in my experience it looks rather cool and elegant if you use a golden ratio for rifles
  • warby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    warby polycounter lvl 18
    actually i am not a fan of those boxy 90° 45° sci fi guns at all ... not one bit
  • imb3nt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    imb3nt polycounter lvl 14