Home Collaboration & Unpaid Work

Looking for Texture Artist for random UVW painting

Ok, so the title is probably pretty discouraging, but I couldn't think of a more exciting, while honest one.

Basically, I'm not looking for mod help, I'm not looking for any commitments, and at this current time, I only do this kind of stuff as a hobby.

Here's the deal, I like to play a few games when I get the opportunity, as I'm sure we all do, and like many of the members here I also occasionally get that desire to contribute and twist elements of the games we love.

So I create simple model replacements, as simple and low-brow as that may seem here amidst this great talent, to help customize the gaming experience, and add a little bit of excitement too.

I am a designer, programmer, modeler, rigger, animator, uvw/high poly baker, etc, etc, nothing new or amazing around these parts, but I like to keep my focus narrow, and avoid any big commitment like big mod work or indi game development.

For the last year I've been greatly enjoying the artistic style and gameplay that hopefully some of you will agree is Team Fortress 2. So late last fall I decided I was going to set out and make a few graphical customizations, something that hasn't been happening much past the typical reskinning of default models, mostly due to the complexities that arise during decompilation. What this means is that anyone that wants to create new graphical content has to know how to rig and animate, and apparently that's a rarity for more stylized games like TF2.

Long Story short, with a friend I started toying with some ideas and threw a few sketches back and forth, until we had arrived at something I just had to create.

The SkullBuster, a visual replacement for the default Sniper Rifle in TF2, here is the concept art we arrived at:

SkullBuster.jpg
(finished 2d artwork courtesy of my friend, and co-designer Marc Johnston, yes he's a Kiwi)