Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Grenadier

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Zelenkov polycounter lvl 9
Yo guys! Here is my first game model. It is inspired by HawkPrey's grenadier concept and Vitaliy Bulgarov's Rabagh. This is my first time texturing a model.
So plz, tear it apart!

upper_body_2.jpg

front.jpg

back.jpg

back_2.jpg

side.jpg

side.jpg

face.jpg

And here are the maps:

diffuse_organic.jpg

organic_normal.jpg

organic_specular.jpg
diffuse_plus_ambient.jpg

armor_normal.jpg

Wireframe.jpg

Replies

• Pope Adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pope Adam polycounter lvl 11
    First thing i noticed is that in your unwraps you've uniquely unwrapped each individual grenade. No need for that, just do one, and copy it multiple times. Maybe do at the most three different ones in order to get some variation in color, design etc.

The character's texture looks like everything is uniquely unwrapped for no reason. both sides are textured exactly the same so why not just mirror the UVs?

Those eyes gotta go! Is that an image of an unwrapped polygon primitive slapped onto his eyeball? ditch that imo

spec isn't working very well.. he looks very plastic.

lighting is bad. Can't see it very well and it's really not helping show your model of as it is right now.

my personal opinion about your color choices. Not enough subtle color variation in the skin. It's all the same brownish color with weird reds and greens throughout (which reminds me of Christmas colors and i hate red and green together lol) Try giving a little more love to your skin textures... right now they look kindof like they were just thrown together in microsoft paint.

On the good side though the design is pretty cool... i dig his proportions and the modeling looks pretty solid (although I know next to nothing about polyflow for characters)

I say keep the model cuz it's pretty good, but scrap the textures, re unwrap it and try again.

Much better than my first character! eeek!