Home Technical Talk

Need help and advice.

Hey fellow polycounters!

So heres me in a nut shell.... I have been modeling for about 2-3 years now and have worked in a small production studio doing modeling for a kids show type deal.

Recently was laid off and yea the job search continues... I have been so use to modeling detail and high poly for movie quality, but the whole reason I went to school for was to get into games.

But certain opportunities came and I ended up where I am.

I wanna do game modeling and texturing, but have no clue where to start but to just model low poly stuff.

I use Maya and have never used Max, cause I hear Max is used in more game studios.

So should I start learning Max?

I use a Mac, is there any program for Mac to help with normal maps?

How do you do normal maps for game assets? zbrush or bake?

Best advice for trying to get into game modeling..

Please guys if you can help me get a general idea I would GREATLY appreciate it.. I want to get into games more than ever now.

Replies

• Cojax
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cojax polycounter lvl 10
    Hey buddy, sorry to hear about the job. That job gave you experience though which is great, and will really help you towards landing a job in the gaming industry.

As for modeling. Best advice I can give is to watch some tutorials. http://eat3d.com/ seems to be a great place. Despite being a modeler in the industry for three years now I still like watching some of these tutorials, because you always seem to learn something new.

Check out portfolios of modelers that work in the industry. Try and duplicate the quality of work you see in these portfolios. Push your self to do better and better. Posting here is great for critiques and help.