Home Technical Talk

Help with baking and normal map ?

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
NAIMA polycounter lvl 14
Hello , first of all I am not a pro , just an amateurish modder that wants to learn , that said here is my problem , I hope I am allowed to post here even if its a pro maker forum here .....

the problem I have is 1 with baking texture of themodel ambient occlusion here is the problem I get , the ao map is coming along but it presents some artefacts I dont understand where they came from , and I cant see anything bad in the mesh ....

60697570.jpg

the second problem is about xnormal , I put the high res and the low res models , I set avarage normals etc but the thing I get its a sort of spiky bad normal map , what can be the cause of that?

77674384.jpg

I hope to not bother you with my nooby questions but I also hope to get many answers :) ...

Replies

• killingpeople
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    killingpeople polycounter lvl 18
    first off, don't worry about posting your questions, this isn't a pro only forum, so don't worry about that man.

regarding your AO bake, i'm not entirely sure what your problem is but looking at the image you've posted, i'm willing to bet it's your padding, i'll use 32 for a 1024. also, i'm seeing you're baking a complete map, you'll want to select light map. third, i'm not sure what you're going for, but if you're attempting to bake an ao to a low poly model from a high poly, you'll want to use the projection cage on the low, that will transfer the surface data from your highpoly there.

for xnormal, i can't tell, but i'm guessing it's your ray distance setting for the low mesh, look around for it, default is 0.5 last i checked. bump that up to like 5.

see if that works and if you're still having problems, post the results and someone should be able to help you out further.