Home Technical Talk

Alternate industry entry points

Hello Polycount community,

I am an aspiring environment artist (working on reel) however its becoming evident that finding a job as a modeler in the industry without any previous experience is becoming more and more difficult every day with all the layoffs happening around the industry and also with the growing popularity of Game schools. I just recently had a chance to speak to a recruiter for a game company in Montreal who also brought the same point to my attention. So my question to you guys is, what are some other good ways to get into the industry as an artist? I know there is texture artists and lighting artists but don't actually know what it takes to get a position like that. What should a texture or lighting artist's demo reel consist of? Or is there other positions/specialties which I could be looking for to increase my chances of finding that first job?

Replies

• SHEPEIRO
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SHEPEIRO polycounter lvl 17
    texture artists need to be able to paint very well, and considering the need for baking and therefore highpoly modelling skills for most NG titles, it seams to be a position on the decline.

and in my experience lighting artists are few and far between, as its either a level artists job or art director, neither of which are particularly entry level.

if i was you the best way is to keep it amature but good, find a good mod team or work on small projects for free, even just showing that you have experince with multiple engines can help
  • glib
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'd agree that pure texture artists are on the way out. Lighting artists in my experience are almost always one of the most experienced artists on the team (except, hopefully, the art director).