Home Technical Talk

nORMALS ZBRUSH TO mAX

Hello PC
Need a little help getting my normal maps produced for a this character. This is my first attempt at producing a normal of this type and its giving me a headache. I have read the normal map thread on this site and it has given me a fairly clear idea of what I need but I have not yet been able to produce it. So that being said, I simply want to produce a clean tangent normal map for this guy and then reaplly it to the low poly in max.

Lamia_inzbrush_color.jpg

Having a lot of trouble getting the normal map produced for this guy and hoping you guys can help me figure out where I went wrong.

Let me start at the beginning and walk you through my work flow.

First off I am using Max9 and Zbrush2 (this is probably part of the problem but its a student version and I can't update to 3 for the time being)

- I created a low poly mesh in Max. I then laid out the UVs and separated the them so that I could get different polygroups in zbrush. It looks like this now
Lamia_inmax_UVS.jpg

- I then exported the mesh via the guru OBJ exporter and then imported it into ZBrush.
- I then did my sculpting and painting as you see

-So to attempt creating the normal map
-I then attempted to create a tangent space normal map in zbrush, and this is where it gets hairy.
For some reason when I turn on the Tangent option I basically get a blue blob with very little detail like this ; (and this is with some contrast added in an attempt to bring the details out) Obviously, when this is applied to the lowpoly mesh , it has little or no effect.

LamiaNormalsTangent.jpg

I managed to produce a local/world space normal that has better detail (although it still has errors but at least the details show through.) it looks like this;

LamiaNormals.jpg

Despite the errors, at least this one has the detail I am looking for but since this is a character that is going to be moved, rotated and deformed, this normal map just wont work for it. right?