Home Technical Talk

Poly Types and Animations in TGEA...

Enlighter
polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
Enlighter polycounter lvl 13
So I am new to the community here. I am a complete newb when it comes to the 3D side of things and game engines.

I have a few questions that hopefully some of you more experienced 3D'rs can help with.

1. Poly type, what's best for TGEA Triangles, Quads, or Nurbs (not even sure if there is support for nurbs).

2. Animations - All animations are being done in Maya. Question is, what's the best way to do the rigging/animating for TGEA, and what format should they be exported in so they can be imported into TGEA.

I think that's it for now haha, I know I will have many more as the project progresses.

Thanks so much in advance for the advice.

Cheers.

Replies

• jocose
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jocose polycounter lvl 11
    If you are talking about Torque Game Engine Advanced then I suggest you post on the Garage Games forums under the artist section. Not to many people on here use Torque and the majority of those who do dislike it, the best place to find artists who use it on a regular basis are on the GG forums.

So in other words this is a great place to get feedback about your art in general but I would save the TGEA specific questions for the GG forums.

As for your questions Torque does not support nurbs, all models must be triangulated (this is true for any game engine but some engines auto-triangle models for you).

Rigging has very little rules except that you have to use bones. Weight your model with bones. Then you can rig it however you want since the rig is not exported just the transforms on the bones.
  • Enlighter
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Enlighter polycounter lvl 13
    to be honest I am starting to see why people don't like it. And I would post on the GG forums, but they are terribly unimpressive.

What engines are you all fans of?
  • ceebee
    Options