Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sentinal by Tim Graybill

hey, my name is Tim Graybill I am a 3d artist trying to get into the game industry. I wanted to post up some of my new work and see what people thought about it. this is a work in progress, I'm just about finished with the high poly modeling and I'm about to start with the normal mapping and textureing. let me know what you think. and if you want to see more of my stuff, you can see it at timgraybill.com

Tim Graybill

tg@timgraybill.com

timgraybill@blogspot.com5.jpg1.jpg3.jpg

6.jpg5.jpg4.jpg3.jpg2.jpg

Replies

• Ott
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ott polycounter lvl 13
    Make the link actually work or post some screenshots. Most people don't enjoy copy/paste to look at stuff.

Your architectural renderings are top notch. Great work there.

Spelling across the board needs a lot of work. "specualr map", "Great full", etc.

Your "About me" says you have developed "Your own process for developing high detail, high polygon..." etc. What is so great about "Your process" that makes it correct/better than everyone else's process?

Screenshots are way too small, un-savable, and give no indication to who you are if I did want to save them and show them off.

You show no wireframes or high res source work in your screenshots. Sorry if they are in the video, myself as well as anyone else looking at this most likely won't even bother with the video.

Your "Misc" section is questionable. If it is unfinished or incomplete models, you are telling the world you don't know how to finish a sculpt and see it through to completion.

If you want to be an artist, make the first thing I see your 3d work, not your demo reel.

Your wooden pedastal makes no sense when showing a sci-tech vehicle or a venom-spitting monster. It doesn't fit.

Most people don't use bump maps anymore.

The majority of your spec maps would not pass in today's shader systems. Black and white versions of your color map don't cut it.