Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Wings Of Steel 2D game

I studie at The Game Academy in Malmö, Sweden. A school with two groups, one for programming and one for art. The purpose of the school is to educate students that will graduate as game developers.

Eight weeks ago the class was divided into 5 groups and this is a post to present the game I was in.

We were a group of 4 programmers and 5 graphical artists created a 2D game. The timeframe was 8 weeks, not full time since we still had lessons and assignments was handed out.

The code is written in c++ with HGE as base (im not a programmer so this is about all what I can say about the codeing).

In the game you control a helicopter that shoots down enemy aircrafts. You gain credits for killed enemies and with those credits you can upgrade your ship and it's weapons. You can also destroy houses and when they explode the enviroment and structures close to the explosion get affected. When you shoot down a enemy it will crash to the ground and affect the enviroment around where it crashes, creating explosions on ground that hopefully destroys the enviroment around the crash.

The graphics is created in Maya and prerendered into 2D pictures. All particles is created with 2d sprites. Levels and gui are mostly created in Photoshop with some stuff created in Maya.

Im gonna post some screenshots and a link to where you can download the game, it will probably get patched quite soon since the programmers found a terrible memory leak 4 hours before deadline.

Please post comments, but since the game is "completed" not much will be changed to the patch.

Wingsofsteel9.jpg
Wingsofsteel8.jpg
Wingsofsteel7.jpg
Wingsofsteel5.jpg
Wingsofsteel11.jpg

http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=7764792268fbdeaa391d7d881749d3a7e04e75f6e8ebb871

Replies

• waldo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    All other members from the group, send a post so people can see who you are. I'm sure i forgot to mention something so fill it in.