Home Collaboration & Unpaid Work

Game developer seeks artistic partner for fun and profit.

Hi guys, I'm new to this forum, but have been a regular on GameDev.net for nearly 10 years.

I'm a software developer residing near Seattle who is looking for a partner who can produce quality, "low-fidelity" art that has unique style. By "low-fidelity" I mean that the types of games and platforms I would most like to target don't need millions (or even thousands) of polygons, or massive textures. In fact, what has drawn me to the talent on this forum is the truly awesome Low-Poly Challenge works that many of you have posted. For any of you who may have missed it, those works were on the order of 500 triangles, along with 128x128 textures. This is the kind of artwork I would typically be needing from this artist -- 500ish triangles, simple skeletal animations, smallish textures, and perhaps some 2D tile art and larger-scale stuff (UI, Title Screen) from time to time. Themes I had in mind range from organic to mechanical, and in my mind most (save some of the mechanical) have an element of whimsy.

For my part, I began developing games seriously during my high school years around age 14. I had (and still have) a fondness for classic 8- and 16-bit jRPGs, so I have a couple 2D tile-based RPG engines under my belt that, while complete, never hosted more than short demos. I also developed a number of tools for those engines, including very complete paint packages. I eventually went to college, attaining a degree in Real-Time Interactive Simulation from DigiPen Institute of Technology. I've continued to study and hone my development skills, but haven't yet applied my degree in the industry -- I've had offers, but have chosen to stick with a more lucrative job that is also less demanding of my time, in large part because it allows me to pursue game development on my own terms and schedule.