Home Technical Talk

MEL local procedures?

polycounter lvl 15
Offline / Send Message
ivars polycounter lvl 15
Hey, I'm a MEL noob, so maybe someone can help me.

I've got this script with two procedures.
One is global, and it creates the window with my fields and buttons the other one is the action that runs when you hit the apply-button.

I thought I'd make the second one local, but it doesn't work. Tried adding it before the global proc as well, but no difference. It just say error: can't find procedure "procedureName"

I've saved the script as a .mel file, sourced it, and I launch it by calling the global proc.

It works if I make both global though.... must be missing something.

Replies

• Quillisia
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    As far as I know, procedures that are called from an UI element need to be global.

I ran into this problem before myself and was told as such.
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Yeah, any procedure to be called from a UI button has to be global.
  • ivars
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ivars polycounter lvl 15
    Well that explains it :D

Thanks.
  • animatr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    animatr polycounter lvl 18
    ***edit***
    ah, i see. I missed the part where you said how you are running it. if that is the case, than yes, it needs to be global. there are still ways to get around it, but it's a bit silly.
    ***end edit***

you can certainly have them be local, if they are contained in the same script. how are you running it? for UIs, I usually use script nodes to embed them in the rig file. I've never had a problem when I've done it that way.

I'll post an example snippet here:

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

proc ExampleOfLocal ()
    {
    polyCube -w 1 -h 1 -d 1 -sx 1 -sy 1 -sz 1 -ax 0 1 0 -cuv 4 -ch 1;;
    }