Home› Technical Talk

Thirding/Tileable Texture Help + C&C

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
mdeforge polycounter lvl 14
Hi guys, thanks for stopping by. This is my first time trying to implement thirding and tileable textures on my model and I'm having quite a bit of difficulty. Also, this is the most complex model I have built so far, sadly (after 30 weeks of animation school), and I need some good comments and critiques on it. I'm probably going to be asking a few noob questions and asking for a bit more detailed C&C because I really haven't recieved much feedback or "you can do it better by" in school. So have patience with me!

I understand how to get a simple box to do this like below:

thirdingwo0.gif

However, I don't understand or comprehend how I do something similar for a complex model. This is the model I am trying to do it on (nevermind that purple plane, forgot that was there when I took the screenshot. I was playing around with decaling):

2009-04-25_1409.png

Rendered

As you can see, I chopped it into a quarter and plan to add symmetry to it after to restore the model. However, I don't want it to look horribly symmetrical after doing so and I hear thirding will help with that. UV mapping even a 1/4 seems redundant, as many of the faces on it are identical. (Please note the completed subway in the background is high poly and will be used for normal mapping. The foreground one is the one is lower poly and the one I'm working on now)

I guess my first question to you guys is when thirding this do I neccisarily need to map all the 'like' portions of this model together? I hear that by using this technique you can add in details so it doesn't look the same everywhere, but still keep the tiling. Would I just not third some of the faces? Would I leave a hole, per say, in the uv mapping to where I'd like to add some unique detail? Or am I missing the point.