Home Technical Talk

Work flow for a certain room - - Old Gym

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Hayden Zammit polycounter lvl 12
Hi, I'm trying to re make a room for Unreal 3d for some practice. Here's the reference image: http://www.bestmmatorrents.com/

To see it in full you have to right click the image in the background and hit view background.

I'm relatively new to game art. I'd have no probs doing it high poly for production, but I know the techniques need to be different for games.

How would you guys do it? The texturing would you tile it? How would you do the windows in the walls, etc.

Please don't restrict your comments to just how you would do those two things. Just tell me as much as you can lol. I want to know a good, accepted workflow for making this sort of thing.

thanks.

Replies

• Tumerboy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tumerboy polycounter lvl 17
    I can't figure out your reference. if YOU can view the background, then copy just IT'S URL here, so we can see just that. I don't even see a background on that page, just black.
  • glib
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Finding this image felt like a scavenger hunt. It feels like there should be hidden data in it to point me on my way!

Anyway,
    http://www.bestmmatorrents.com/themes/bestmmatorrents/images/backall.jpg
  • Daaark
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Daaark polycounter lvl 17
    How would you guys do it? The texturing would you tile it? How would you do the windows in the walls, etc.
    Depends on your 'budget', and your style.

You could tile the floor. Or you could give it all unique texturing if you really want to. It's a hardwood floor, no one is really going to notice either way.

You can create 1 window, texture it, and copy it all around, or you can texture them all individually.