Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

animation critiques please

Hi,
I am an animation student and I would like some critiques on my work. I have already received some, but I would like to have more to make these pieces better.

Thank you.

http://denzalzarinelliportfolio.blogspot.com/

Replies

• Mezz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mezz polycounter lvl 8
    Hey there!

First anim: I appreciate the apology for not looping it longer, but I think you need to re-export it with a longer loop cycle. Right now, I find it difficult to get a proper idea of the flow of the anim as short as it is and therefore can't quite critique it.

Second Anim: Overall looking good. It could use some more overlapping action, and it looks like the shoulder area and hip area are rotating the same way--they have to be shifting opposite directions of each other.

Third: Cute anim. My only problem with it is the arms--the lower half is moving ok, but the upper part of the arms are so stiff it looks a little weird. You also might want to try delaying the movement on the arms back a couple frames.

Lip sync: First of all, in lip syncs animations, a big part of what people are looking at is to see if the mouth positions are following the words and emtions well--unfortunately, we can't really see much of that at all in this one. As well, the acting seems weak. Stand up and try acting it out yourself. Would you stand stifly and move nothing but your arms, or would you be shifting your weight, shifting a leg? Would you tilt your head a certain way to emphasize a word? These are all things to think through. Yes, the more acting, the more work, but believable acting cannot be overlooked if you wanna become a great animator.

Hope some of these points were helpful--keep practicing, you've got some good stuff going on.
  • flow3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    flow3d polycounter lvl 18
    IK Blend = 0

then we'll talk
  • BuCC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message