Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First Environment from a newbie artist W.I.P.

my.php?image=environmentae5.jpgHi, everyone

I am a newbie at 3d art only becoming famailar with Maya a few months ago, At the moment I am trying to push my skills..... so I grabbed a concept off the Internet and have begun trying to make it. At the moment I have only just finished the modelling process.

I have no fixed Polycount but I want to keep it within reason and the art brief seems to state that i need to create reusable assets, which I have tried to do.

I have heard that Polycount and it's artist's are renowed for their high quality art and really good critiques.

Now that I have hit my first milestone, I was hoping to get some critiques on the progress so far. So I can really push this piece and my skills

Anyway here is what I have done so far.

environmentae5.jpg
w640.png

Replies

• AshleyTayles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AshleyTayles polycounter lvl 9
    Bizzare art test by any chance?

Anyway, it is very good! Are you going to texture it too?
  • amotaf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi Ashley yes thanks for the comments... I grabbed it from their website.

I am intending to texture it can't wait for that part of the process actually, but I want to put a spin on it, I want to make it look stylized in a similar vein to TF2, that's an art style I really enjoyed. At the moment I am looking at Ben Mathis website as he has some decent tuts on his work flow on texturing that I reckon could help me alot.

Hopefully I will have an update in the next few hours then maybe more people can give me critiques etc
  • vj_box
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah,they have a couple of good environment tests in their website.

Vj
  • amotaf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok I have a small update.....