Home General Discussion

Self taught and resumes

I've been wondering this for a while now - but is it better for someone who is self taught and never went to college to omit their education from a resume than to state that they were self taught? I've seen some people in their resume state that they are self taught. People who omit education, I imagine, probably have the question of education come up during the interview process. Does any of this really matter to most employer's if the interviewee's portfolio is solid? I imagine the answer is no, but I'm still curious.

Replies

• JohnnyRaptor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JohnnyRaptor polycounter lvl 15
    Your education really proves nothing. Im a firm believer in a solid portfolio above anything else.
  • bugo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bugo polycounter lvl 17
    I am too, i have no bachelor or diploma. Also, be disciplined and a good guy, this way you get the job.
  • Ryan Clark
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ryan Clark polycounter lvl 18
    The resume is a list of reasons to hire you. It's not a mini-biography.

Omit non-relevant jobs, and any details that aren't reasons to hire you. Such details may come up in your interview, but they don't belong on your resume.

You're correct that studios don't generally mind a lack of formal education. A candidate's portfolio is what matters.
  • ohnein
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks Ryan. I guess I really never completely looked at it from that perspective. I've always looked a resume as just a list of skills and (relevant) professional experience rather than solid reasons for getting the job you're applying for.
  • Xenobond
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xenobond polycounter lvl 18
    It would probably be wise to at least mention if you graduated from High School.
  • MagicSugar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MagicSugar polycounter lvl 10