Home Technical Talk

Ambient Occlusion artifacts

Hullo Polycount members, I'm afraid I need your help.

I'm a game art student from the Uk currently engaged in 'technical research' for my project and I seem to have hit a bit of a block. I've been seeing some awesome 'clay' renders around and thought I'd have a go at learning how to do them along with baking the light information to a texture. The tutorial i followed can be found here http://www.game-artist.net/forums/spotlight-articles/1317-tutorial-ambient-occlusion-maya-alchemist101.html.

Right, I'm just going to chuck this image up and hopefully it'll show the problems I'm having. Apologies if it's a bit large. Oh, I'm using Maya 8.5, if that helps.

help01copyyi7.jpg

The lines around the 'hip' could be down to the UVs I suppose, as for the line across the top of the mouth I have no idea, it's just a normal face :shifty:.

Feels like I've been wrestling with Maya for practially the whole weekend so any help at all would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

ng

Replies

• MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Maybe try Unlock Normals and see if that changes how your mesh looks in the viewport. Sometimes normals can get "locked" after doing certain commands (like Combine, Separate etc) and while they look ok in the viewport they're actually treated differently when rendering or exporting.

Make sure you don't have any double faces or dodgy geometry (2 verts on top of each other), you should be able to check this with Mesh -> Cleanup.
  • Neongoat
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi MoP, thanks for replying so fast. I had a go at your suggestions; nothing doing sadly. Could it be a problem with the geo? I have got some nasty ngons in there. Having said that, I tried rendering using just a lambert and mental ray and it looks fine, maybe something to do with the surface shader?
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18