Home Technical Talk

Script shortcut to button in Max

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Dakkon polycounter lvl 10
Hey guys. I was wondering how I could go about making a button that activates a script that I can place on my toolbar in Max? I did this awhile ago, but I've totally forgotten what I did.

Replies

• JohnnyRaptor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JohnnyRaptor polycounter lvl 15
    select your code in the code window and drag it to a bar

edit, DAMN, ninja'd!
  • Dakkon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well, I'm trying to run a pre-existing script. It's the Polyboost program, and I'm trying to make a button to get it to launch over having to run the script every time. If I make a text button with Polyboost.mse in it, it gets a lot of error. I have little to no experience with this as I'm sure you can tell :).
  • Rob Galanakis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You'll want to do something like:
    macroScript RunThisFile
    category:"MyScripts"
    (
    fileIn "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Max 2008\Scripts\Polyboost\someFile.ms"
    )

Replace the filename with whatever the path is of the script you are trying to run, make sure to use \\ instead of \.

There are better ways to do this but this is simple and better than, say, opening the .ms file in question, selecting it all, and dragging it onto your toolbar.
  • Dakkon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I figured out a different way of doing it since with making a new toolbar, and adding a shortcut in the customize menu. For some reason it wouldn't open properly since it was an mse file, and not an ms file.
  • butt_sahib
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    butt_sahib polycounter lvl 11
    Custom UI to the rescue!
    imo, this is the best way to go about.
    2940,screenENCQZ.jpg
    Made this screenshot for a friend i made the UI for,so please ignore the tone of the "pitch"
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message