Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

PLA Troop Model

Hi all, A buddy of mine from school "pope adam" referred me. I was hoping to get some good critiques before I move forward into Z brush.
PLATroopConcept.jpg?t=1226469317PLATroop01.jpg?t=1226469335PLATroop03.jpg?t=1226469376PLATroop04.jpg?t=1226469401

Replies

• Pope Adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pope Adam polycounter lvl 11
    Hey John. I'm surprised you didn't get any hits yet. People tend to not comment on your P&P posts if it's your first post... kinda pretentious around here like that sometimes - cliquey if you will.

Anywho, it looks pretty good so far, the base mesh is really solid. Did you look at this thread yet?
    http://boards.polycount.net/showthread.php?t=54527

I think this will help you a lot with your joints.

I'm no expert on characters whatsoever, but I think you could probably optimize some of the geometry on this guy and do a lot of it with normal mapping.

Also, I would recommend you don't take this only in to zbrush. There's a lot of things that would probably be better off left to hard surface modeling (face mask, belt buckles weapons).

Good luck, post some updates!
  • fritz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fritz polycounter lvl 18
    zbrush will not like those triangles.
  • Pope Adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pope Adam polycounter lvl 11
    eh i've zbrushed shitloads of triangles. Ngons are the problem with zbrush.

Zbrush will divide a quad into 4 quads and a triangle into 3 quads, but the 3 quads wont smooth... no big deal because the next subdivision level will divide that into 12 quads.

Only problem you will have is with smoothing, which can quite effortlessly be painted out in photoshop...

so..
    no big dealz.
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18