Home Technical Talk

UVs, rigging, and some other questions

I went through the archives a bit, but haven't been able to find anything that's really helpful for this. I've got a couple problems and questions;

1. UV mapping has always been my weakpoint and I'm not always working on characters that have "normal" designs that I can apply human-like UV sets to (since the entire internet world seems to think only human characters exist). I've got a couple books that people have suggested as being the bible of modeling, but they don't go into much helpful detail. Can anyone suggest anything online? Maybe something at least bipedial or with large ears, claws, snouts and tails? Pretty much figure I'm a newbie on this... Practice doesn't seem to be making anything near perfect right now. -_-;

2. I'm trying to work on the rigging of a character and the books I have don't really help on how to make the *rotation* of a joint match up with the actual direction the joint is facing. (I hate when they assume you know what they're talking about).

3. I know how to work normal eyeballs with rigs/constraints/etc, but what if your character has giant Sonic the Hedgehog like eye sockets? Is there an easy way to make the eyeballs move? What about the eyelids?

4. Is there a 'standard' way characters, UVs, controllers and rigs *must* be set up, or is it just up to a personal preference of what works for you? The reason I ask is because my teachers in school weren't very .. helpful on what's actually USED in the outside world. I'm always kind of worried that what I do with my models and rigs is just going to get laughed at when I send out resumes.

5. No one has ever been able to answer this question for me: What is the safe standard range polycount for characters used for video games and movies?

I'm sure there's more I need to pick brains about, but that's all I can think of right now that'll get me started on my immediate problems.

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options