Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Holt House (disgaea 2 concept) W.I.P

Hello guys, I'm new on the forum and kinda new to the videogame art
this is my first attempt in making my first game set
the concept is from the ps2 game disgaea 2.. I'm not trying to follow the concept 100% I just want to be able to do good texturing and modeling
I don't know too much about what are the main rules to follow when making a 3d game set so any help will be appreciated!
it's supposed to be a low poly model (10k -20k tris) and textures are 1024

42527591fx9.jpg

this is the coneptdis2envholt4cp3.jpg

Replies

• Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    I'd like to see your colors match the concept more, your stuff is too dark and saturated. I'd like to see your wireframes and texture flats too.
  • machuca
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    i agree with what justin said. the 4 towers are too thin, alot of the wood detail in the house could be reproduced by normal maps getting the polycount way down. and maybe some more detail in the texture to get these objects a little more "connected".

but anyway, its turning out really nice, cant wait for updates.
  • Snuggles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snuggles polycounter lvl 17
    Also agreein'. Most of the colors are too saturated, so as it feels like there's no real focal point or balance. They're all kind of standing out simultaneously. The geometry also kind of lacks that design balance. You took some details out between the concept and model but it doesn't look like you made up the visual interest that you took out.

I really hope I'm making sense, hehe.

But it's a Disgaea concept, so I still love you immensely.
  • AlexMGD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thanks for the suggestions

I'm trying to follow all the tips provided

here's an update:

testbm3.jpg