Home Digital Sketchbooks

Digital Sketchbook: Chris Allison

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
Chunkey polycounter lvl 19
Hellos :) thought I'd set a thread up instead of spamming elsewhere :) Also I'd very much like to have some crits as I'm now going out of my safety zone and doing current gen art after half a decade of doing hand held and previous gen console games.

I've started work on the Splash Damage art test - This is the big one as I'm looking for work so I need to get my act together and make this work. Bearing in mind that I have never done a full normal mapped scene before but I'm relishing the challenge :) Hopefully it'll end up with me getting work, starting to feel the pinch a bit heh

Anyways, enough blabbing, here's the pics so far

1: laying out the basics as seen in the concept on the Splash Damage website.

1st_update.jpg

2: thought I'd knock up some textures to see how the scene may look, wasn't too happy and was advised by Vahl to leave them off till all the geo was sorted

2nd_update.jpg

3: I'd started doodling for the first time in ages, was fun but frustrating at the same time, must practise more! And laid out all my tiles to fit the expanded concept. Pretty happy with it so far.

3rd_update.jpg

drawings.jpg

tileset.jpg
and the tileset so far up to this point (more have been added since)

3: I'm aiming to make this a distribution point for a floating market like you see over in places like Bangkok- There's an old ship graveyard not far away and peices of the deserted ships have been taken away and used for parts, or in this case, a whole building. Now I've modelled in the basics, I'll do another concept using a render as a template and I'll start adding the smaller details such as signage, design of the floating market itself.

4th_update.jpg

update5.jpg