Home Technical Talk

Issues Baking Normalmap

Renzatic
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Renzatic polycounter lvl 10
Hey everybody. I'm relatively new at this. Far enough along to start getting into the complicated issues, but not quite good enough yet to get them right.

I've recently started UVing and baking normals from high poly meshes. For the last week, I've been spending all my modeling time tweaking settings and rebaking the same normal over and over again. I've made some headway in that time, but still can't quite get it perfect. I figured it was time for me to head over here and start shooting questions and asking advice.

I'm working on a simple shutter. A big square. Nothing that'll make anyone gasp and ooh in wonder. I've got my 74 poly low res mesh, my overly complicated 2 million poly high res mesh I've been weathering in Zbrush, and my diffuse. For reference, here they are:

Low poly shutter with diffuse and UV

High poly mesh in Modo

After paying a bit of change for Luxologys alleyway tutorial and putting what I learned there into practice, this is the resulting normalmap.

As you can see, the thing is rife with unwanted bumps, smears, and seams. It's the closest I've come to what I want, but still nowhere near as nice as I'd like.

I could use a few pointers here. What exactly am I doing wrong, what can I improve? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Edit: I got it! All I had to do was highlight the geometry I wanted to paste into the other UV instead of cutting the entire thing raw. Kind of a simple thing, and I feel like a total idiot for not doing it beforehand...but hey, live and learn.

Thanks for the help everyone. :D

Replies

• Chai
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Chai polycounter lvl 17
    as a fellow modonaut, here's a few suggestions :

1. don't use modo for baking out normalmaps if you can avoid it, max would be your best option and after that you have 3rd party tools like xnormal and I think crazy bump.