Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Marak

Hey guys,
I'm a bit of a novice in the 3D world and I use a program I haven't seen mentioned yet: Carrara.
I like modeling, but I'm very old fashioned and do just about everything manually in the vertex window! I'm a bit obsessive about getting the textures I want, but haven't started using photoshop for them yet - although I do have it.

Here's some shots of an Orbital (from Iain M Bank's books - a bit like Halo in concept (the orbital that is, not the books)). I wanted to convey it's awesome size and have spent hours laboriously tweaking noise functions in layers to get the land, oceans, clouds, lights etc. looking right. It needs a bit more work, but I thought I'd share these for now.

Crits welcome! :)

Here's a slightly old render of the land texture on a plain - it's been balanced for colour since, but it shows the texture fairly well as a whole (before clouds)
InfiniteContinents.jpg

A shot of the orbital's terminator. Annoying bump fuinction; cant seem to reverse it since the 'inside' of my hoop is actually the exterior surface, so the shadows go the wrong way on the land. grr.
You can't really see it on this low a resolution, but I know it's there...
Sunrise2.jpg

Satalitesque shot of my favourite continent with new clouds.
Orbital25.jpg

Replies

• konstruct
    Offline / Send Message
    konstruct polycounter lvl 18
    Oh dang, I didnt know carrara was still around.

This definatly looks procedural. everything is so evenly distributed, and looks like a fractal, (which is probably because it is a fractal).

while thats a good place to start, you DEFINATLY want to move away from that and onto some actual texture map creation.

I have a slight feeling that videogames will probably start using procedural methods WAY down the road, but there still isnt a replacement for an artists touch.

drop the fractals, and get to painting some textures. (also pick up a more legit 3d package :P )
  • Marak