Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First Building, Looking for Tough Love

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
super_villain polycounter lvl 11
So I figured that if I want to get a job as an environmental artist, I should probably make a couple of buildings. So, I read through a few of the envir art threads, and here is my first attempt at one. It's simple, but I'm want to get the process down before I get carried away. It's a facade at this point (no back). It's 8870 tris. I used five maps big maps, and three small ones for repeating textures, as shown in the pic. I rendered the building with each of the maps as a solid color, so you can see what goes with what. No normal or spec maps, as I imagine I'm gonna get suggestions on how to make this better/more efficient.

So now I'm just looking for a beat down. What should be changed? Should I combine 4 for the big maps, maybe toss out the "additional balcony colors" map? Are some of the maps unnecessary? Looking for insight. Thanks in advance for your help.

building01.jpg

Replies

• AimBiZ
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AimBiZ polycounter lvl 14
    Looks like a good management to me. Depends how big the maps are though. Would the player (I assume this is gameart) be able to see the building up close like in a fps or does it lean more to rts?

Not very fond of the stripes on the top. I like the idea of having some kind of detail up there but something else rather. And the windows should be placed a bit away from the edge of the wall.

Otherwise, looks like a very good start. I'll be watching. :)
  • salman_fas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What does it mean by "big map" and "small map". Also why do you have same door twice in your texture map?
  • zerafian
    Options
    Offline / Send Message