Home General Discussion

New monitor time

polycounter lvl 19
Online / Send Message
MikeF polycounter lvl 19
So i've been using a 19" and 17" CRT setup for about 5 years now, its time to go lcd.
I know nothing about LCD monitors, i dont know what i should be looking for in terms of response time, widescreen or no, better brands etc..
i'm not even sure what kind of setup i should be looking at, i'm so used to dual monitors theres no way i can go back to one, but i dont have a huge chunk of change to get two, i've got about 300$ CAD. i can put towards this

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    After running dual CRT's for so long I couldn't go back to just one, widescreen or not. So when I made the jump a few months ago I coughed up the cash for two. Its great and since you're roughly at $300CAD I'd say buy one really good one, and have your second be a CRT for a few more months until you can afford another LCD. OR check out payment plans...

On Adams recommendation and after some searching around I found the Samsung 226CW to be the best I could afford.

At work I have dual ViewSonic VX2235wm. Pretty decent, not my first choice. The Samsungs match perfectly side by side when set to the same settings. The viewsonics are off and have more bleeding around the edges. It also seems like the viewing angle is slightly more shallow. But that would be a differance in office decor/egronomics.

It's best if you can buy them at the same time, but its no gaurentee that they'll be from the same run, so the color/brightness could be varried. I lucked out with the Samsungs, they match perfectly.
  • StJoris
    http://www.behardware.com/html/cat/22/

This site may help a bit, I guess it's okay to link that there no?
    Personally I can't cope with 160/160 viewing angle from TN-panels, something might want to take into account.
  • kary
    Offline / Send Message
    kary polycounter lvl 18