Home Technical Talk

Maya 2009 polycount wishlist

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
bugo polycounter lvl 17
Sincerely, as a game developer I see alot of things that Maya could add because its very important to have these features (forgive me if there is, but i couldnt find).

- choose zbuffer drawing order on each object (or other solution that could solve transparency problems)
- high quality rendering supporting cosine power map (gloss), could be in specular alpha or a new node.
- Faster HQR mode.
- Vertex alpha paiting for texture blending.

Replies

• alexk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    alexk polycounter lvl 12
    my wishlist for Maya 2009 is basically everything that the Nex plugin has

I also want the old compass thing back and throw the new Viewcube in the garbage
  • PolyHertz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
    Alexk: Extension3 for maya2008 has most of the Nex features. Actually, I saw some demos of it at GDC and was completly floored by how much of a blatant rip off of Nex it was. Don't think the Autodesk employees appreciated me pointing that out either :p
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Well, tools is tools. There's only so many ways you can make a "connect" or "target weld" work... you might as well say NEX is ripping off Max.

I don't think there's any such thing as "ripping off" when it comes to tools. There's just an optimal way to do things given the current setup of a program and input devices, and many different people coming to the same conclusion is no bad thing.

Obviously it would be "ripping off" if they just directly stole the source code, but I somehow doubt that :)

Regarding stuff I'd want to see in Maya 2009:
    - A DirectX viewport mode, or an OpenGL mode that isn't horribly broken on consumer NVidia cards.