Home Technical Talk

Decals - Lost on how to

polycounter lvl 15
Offline / Send Message
Autocon polycounter lvl 15
First let me say hi, my name is Anthony and I'm a student in Game Art and Design. Been a big fan of the polycount forums, read them often and have learned a lot.

Anyway my question is how exactly do you make decals. I have read all over the place that you should use decals for things like graffiti and what not to save space on your UV's you wish to tile to break up the monotonous tiling of them.

I have taken a few texture classes in school now but they have never gone over anything about decals at all. So for projects I havent been tiling really any textures because if I want to have graffiti on a wall it would tile that graffiti all over the place. Basicly I have just fully textured each side of objects which hurts details I can have in large objects such as buildings.

Now I know you can do decals in editors like unreal but I havnt taken a class in unreal yet. It also seems that for nice polished renders people use decals in max or maya.

If anyone could point me in the right direction I would greatly appreciate it =)

Thanks a ton in advance,
Anthony

Replies

• Tumerboy
    Offline / Send Message
    Tumerboy polycounter lvl 17
    You can use Decals wherever you want. (your engine may disagree with that statement)

Basically, it's just a piece of geometry, floating just above the surface you want it to look like it's part of, and then textured to be what you want.