Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

recent grad /w a crap reel, would love some crit

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
sub_roland polycounter lvl 12
Hey everyone,
I am a recent college grad and would love some feed back on my reel. I am planing on getting the room at the end textured over the next week. Here's a link to my site. Thanks www.zachperez.com

Replies

• Richard Kain
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Richard Kain polycounter lvl 18
    I agree that you would definitely benefit from some more texture work. And your demo reel could certainly be longer. But I think you're being too hard on yourself. I would never call that reel "crap." It looked quite good. The pieces you showed off in it were solid and interesting, and you always gave credit where it was due. (a nice touch that some artists aren't always so careful about)

Basically, just keep working on your pieces and polish them up a tad. You're definitely going in the right direction, and you already evidence a great deal of technical expertise. I would like to see more animation pieces in your demo reel. I know that environmental work is quite desireable these days, but I always like to see something done with environmental pieces. Especially in video demo reel.
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] polycounter lvl 18
    The reel didn't strike me as being that crappy, although the intro and ending screens seemed a little gimmicky and the song is weird, which might turn some people off. You'd probably be safer to keep those neutral so that nothing distracts viewers from your work.