Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Victorian House Scene (WIP)

This is a project I am working on in one of my classes.

Ref for the house:
addamskv2.jpg

vicsceneuy5.jpg
Ok right now my house is at 27,000 tris. I haven't optimized it at all so far, and I'm going to leave the poly count a little high for it since I'm building it modularly and going to import it into unreal 3. I'm shooting for about 25,000 tris when its completed. Does that sound decent?

hearse2nr3.jpg
hearse2it9.jpghearsejv6.jpg
hearsejp8.jpgThe texture I have on it is just a place holder, its a 1024 and really rough right now. The hearse is at 6900 tris, but I'm pretty sure I'll be able to cut it down to around 5500-6000.

housepiecesun6.jpghousepiecesww7.jpg
I just wanted to show how I was building the house, I'm pretty new to building things modularly, so if you have any suggestions/tips/critiques I'd be happy to hear them. :)

Replies

• Cody
    Offline / Send Message
    Cody polycounter lvl 15
    Looks sweet to me. I think unreal only supports about 50,000 total visible [not sure]. So if it's just for that scene it should work, but sort of high for a game.
  • EarthQuake
    50,000 visibile in ue3? are you smoking crack? I think 500,000 onscreen is more realistic than that. 25,000 for an important, large building is should be well within reason. That being said you could probabbly simplify and optimise this to use a LOT less, but that might take away a bit of its charm.

My only suggest is this: when building a complicated object like this, try and plan out your uvs a bit before you start, really for this type of object you would probabbly want to use a couple large(2048) textures that have all the seperate materials for each peice. That way you dont end up having to have 20+ unique materials for the thing, which will hurt performance WAYYYY more than 25,000 polys.
  • Ott
    Offline / Send Message
    Ott polycounter lvl 13
    Cody wrote: »