Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

my first low poly human

This is my first attempt at a low poly human female, she is currently 3100 tris. Lookin for comments and crits, if anyone has any comments about how to cut down the poly count that would be useful. thanks
fem.jpg

Replies

• Adam Curtis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Adam Curtis polycounter lvl 16
    it's really hard to give you crit on poly useage when you got all the edges showing.
    Here's a link showing how to get a solid render in max, mite be similar to what package you are using if it's not max.

http://www.3dnuts.com/tutorials/rendering/wireframe_solid.shtml
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    The proportions and overall shapes are fairly good, but the way your mesh is constructed seems very messy. There are a lot of edges that need turning, and the breasts in particular seem to be constructed very strangely. Not very smooth or natural.

Also her feet seem huge and clumpy, why is she wearing shoes when the rest of the model implies she's naked?
  • zerojs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    do you mean that all the triangles edges are showing? rather than quads? thats because in most areas i did split the quads into tris to try to be more efficient.
  • zerojs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oh yeah the feet, well this character is intended to be used in an mmo, she will never be actually naked ingame so im tryna prepare the model to be clothed, of course the clothes will replace the underlying bodyparts. And i was tryna save polygons, no need for toes so no need to make em.

and the breasts, yeah i need to work on em a bit more, but then i will probably replace them with clothing too so not sure whats best.
  • zerojs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message