Home Technical Talk

Problem going from Cryptic to Biped

Hello,
Hopefully someone can help me out here. Been trying to figure out a solution for some time now.
I am an animator and Rigger and we are currently using the crap ass package CS (Biped Rig)what I cant stand.

I was wondering is there a solution to take Cryptic AR rig animation and put it on a Biped rig.
I am currently using Max 8.

Any help would be appreciated
R:)B

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You might want to dial down the anti-CS rhetoric until you use it, I understand change is frustrating but until you can fully compare them, try to refrain from calling one "a crap ass package". Biped isn't that bad once you figure out its features and work flow. Biped isn't my first choice for animation but it's widely used and is included in max, its great at importing mo-cap and managing animation clips, creating looping animations and running crowd control simulations. The least of its strengths is being a user friendly rig, which given the technical restraints put on it (so it can do the wide range of other things) it comes off as a pretty simple, clean rig that you can use to hand animate characters with relative ease.

Please stop trying to comparing elephants to oranges and just learn to use the tools available as they are intended. You'll run into limitations with any rig unless you make it yourself, but who has the time to do that?

Besides you might get more help and appear more professional if you are less fanatical and less insulting...

Getting animation info into a Biped rig is pretty easy and there are 2 ways to do it.
    - Import the animation as mo-cap data .BIP .BVH or .CSM.
    OR
    - Load it as XML. File > Load Animation. The mapping process will go quicker if you configure and name the objects the same in both rigs. This might be your best bet.

EDIT:
    Other rigs/animation tools to check out: