Home Technical Talk

Writing Letters

I recently got picked up by a company as sort of a full time freelancer of sorts. I graduated this past December so I am a tad bit inexperienced still.

Anyways, my question is this:

I need to make a logo animation wherein a metal plate falls to the ground and then the initials of the company are kind of written into the steel. I haven't been able to figure out a good way of doing this however. I could easily make the effect to burn in the entirety of the letters all at the same time, but they seem dead set on having an invisible tool kind of weld the letters into the steel.

The programs at my disposal are Adobe Creative Suite, IE Photoshop, After Effects, etc. And 3DSmax.

I appreciate any advice or tutorials you guys might be able to offer. I have about a day to come up with something rough to show them and they either accept or decline the idea. I hope to hear something soon.

Replies

• sir-knight
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sir-knight polycounter lvl 10
    quick and dirty:

Draw or render 1 version of the plate that animates falling to the 'ground'

draw or render a 2nd version of the plate with the writing already done on it in the texture or whatever in the final resting frame of the 1st animation.

In after effects, use all kinds of animated brush strokes that follow the writing at the same time use that as a cutter to cut the unwritten plate to reveal the written plate underneath it.

Should be lots of AE tutorials on how to do a plasma cutter effect out there, the rest lies in your ability to animate with max and texture your steel plate.
  • Vailias
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vailias polycounter lvl 18
    Couple ways I can think of doing it.