Home Technical Talk

Object space vs. tangent? (Character model)

Hey guys, first post. Sorry of this has been covered, but I'm pretty new to the whole normal mapping game and basically I've modelled a character and detailed in ZBrush. Basically, I've generated both tangent and object space normal maps for the character. I think that the object space looks pretty good and makes the low poly model look quite high, whereas the tangent IMO doesn't appear to look any better than a generic bump map.

I'll post renders later (my net on my 3D computer's playing up at the moment) but I'm trying to figure out if I'm doing something wrong? The tangent space normal still have the low-poly character look low-poly, but a with a few details I could have painted as a bump map in a few minutes compared to the time it took to ZBrush everything.

I've been reading that object/world space normals cause odd shading problems if animated, though upon a quick test I couldn't see anything particularly off when the model was deformed.

Replies

• Jay Evans
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jay Evans polycounter lvl 18
    Depends on the game engine, but for the most part these days every game I've seen is using tangent on the characters. So if you are planning on eventually putting things in a game engine, I'd take the time to learn how to make tangent space maps work for you. They should look identical if setup properly.
  • Rob Galanakis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You are probably generating your tangent space incorrectly if there is a significant difference (if in zbrush you are generating it at a subdivision level higher than 0). Object space normals will look nicer (at least I've heard) because they are more explicit and don't need to rely on surface normals, while tangent space are relative to the surface normal. But OS normal maps cannot deform... it isn't just a shading problem, it is that they become entirely wrong when they deform.
  • Ryan Clark