Home Technical Talk

I fail at normal maps

Hi everyone, first post here on Polycount. I'm a currently a student working on becoming an environment artist someday, but unfortunately I seem to have hit a speedbump. When rendering normal maps in Maya I've been having this issue which seems to be a caused by my UVs, to be honest, I'm really not sure. I've tried re-baking the normals with a variety of settings with little success, I've also tried baking them in Xnormal with the same results. Things show up fine in Xnormals viewer as well as the high quality viewport render in Maya, but if I render them out in Mental Ray or if I import into Unreal I get crazy seams.

In Unreal

goddammit.jpg

In Maya
Urinal_1.jpg

and here is a different object in Mental Ray
bakingcookies2.jpg

No on the second object it appears that 3 out of the 4 sides have one of the channels flipped, but I don't know why that would be. Anyways, hopefully someone here can shed some light on the situation.

Thanks,

Rob

Replies

• Ryan Smith
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ryan Smith polycounter lvl 11
    how about posting your normal maps?
  • tom.drin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tom.drin polycounter lvl 17
    Some programs use different settings in channel direction of NM - maybe its your problem.
    Try flipping channels in normal map. I think it could be green channel. Just open it in photoshop and invert this channel.
  • rooster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rooster mod
    I feel your pain. apparently mental ray doesn't handle mirrored uvs very well (at all) when dealing with normal maps.. is the dodgy side of the brick wall using mirrired uvs? what happens if you flip them and rebake?
  • Vailias
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vailias polycounter lvl 18
    The second object looks like either:
    A: the vetex normals have gotten flipped on some of the faces, or
    B: the object has been scaled by -1 on one of its axis.