Home Contests & Challenges Archives

LPC #05 - indian_boy - Doom 3 Imp

hey hey!

thought i'd try some ultra-low poly stuff myself. and why not this right? its an imp from the doom 3 world

imp01.jpg
got the mesh done, i think. but since this is my first time at less than 2k tris, im sure i've done lots wrong. one thing i think ill do, is increase the width of the hips.

but yea, gimme your tips and suggestions.
I hope i can get good at _low_ low poly art too. i'll unwrap and get to texture painting later on, once i get a feeling that "yea, this looks like a good mesh".

so, crit away, on whatever you wish.
thanks guys
cheers!

Replies

• indian_boy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    imp02.jpg

update... redid the mesh, apparently the imp is buffer than at first glance!
    and i think i did a better job distributing polies. at least he has a shape now!

tell me what you guys think!
  • Emil Mujanovic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Emil Mujanovic polycounter lvl 18
    Huge improvement from the first iteration, dude.
    I think the shoulders are a little beefy, kind of looks like he's a body builder flexing.
    The legs lack a whole lot of detail and are very straight even with the amount of segments you have there.
    Seeing as you've only been given 500tris, you could do with 5-sided legs and then redistribute those polys to help the silhouette. You seem to have thrown a good portion of your budget into the upper torso and everywhere else is lacking.
    Quick tip, which I'm sure you already know of. Make a full black material and apply it to your mesh and check the silhouette, you'll see straight away where forms are lacking and where you have segments that do nothing.
    Keep at it, dude.

-caseyjones
  • Xaltar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xaltar polycounter lvl 17
    Big improvement on the first model there, you are learing fast wink.gif