Home Technical Talk

mocap and biped

sir-knight
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
sir-knight polycounter lvl 10
here's a question about mocap data and biped, I've never used any mocap data before but I've got some and I'd like to try it out. The example provided with the package has a very complex rig, mainly with twist links in the rig, how important is it to retain the exact same rig from the example to my own work? Do I have to use the same rig or can I simplify the biped from 3 twist links in the arms to 1?

using max 8 of course.

Replies

• Rick Stirling
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rick Stirling polycounter lvl 18
    The mocap data will only be for the underlying biped I suspect - all the other bones are very likely to be procedurally driven so you should be fine.
  • sir-knight
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    okay cool, I've spend a couple hours going through the mocap tutorials and bringing in the data for my biped, however it alters the biped I have in scene to match the one in the mocap data (1 finger instead of 5 on my biped)And it seems to change some proportions in the biped pieces, specifically the legs, will this be a an issue when I actually have a rigged character?
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Depends on the data format. I think a .BIP file will overwrite your existing structure. But if you re-import the source motion format instead, like BVH or CSM, then you can fit it to your own structure.

Takes some finesse to import raw data, been awhile since I had to do it. You use biped's FIG format to control how the motion is translated to your rig. It doesn't work great with extreme changes between captured structure vs. custom structure, like human bone lengths into extreme character lengths. You'll also need to generate footsteps to re-lock the feet, otherwise they'll slide around.