Home Technical Talk

UVing for TF2

buddikaman
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
buddikaman polycounter lvl 18
SO I am new to unwrapping and a little confused. I am trying to re-make a TFC map(Rock2) for TF2 and plan on adding custom props, as shown.

propsmv2.jpg

So I tried unwrapping my first model today and was a bit confused, btw this is the model.

uvquestion2on4.jpg

So i had little proplems unwrapping the Heavy cutout, but the wooden boards supporting the back of the cutout, should i make those seperate objects and unwrap them seperatly from the cutout, and if i have two identical objects would i just create one than clone it with the uvs?

uvquestion1yr1.jpg

Should i unwrap the Nails as seperate objects as well? What is a general rule of thumb on how many seperate objects to unwrap by themselves as opposed to having a complex object with sub-objects and just doing everything on one flat? And say for example you do have multiple objects that are being imported into the game as one prop/static mesh cant you just apply sub-materials for different flats to combine to your one object? hmmm

Help appreciated!!

-Buddikaman-

Replies

• Pedro Amorim
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    if i was you.. i wouldnt even make nails for that model. they are so tiny and dont add nothing to the model.
    you need to think how this model is gonna be seen. is it gona be seen only from the front? if so delete the backfaces and all that jazz.
    smile.gif
    carry on. nice models also. smile.gif
  • Josh Winn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [ QUOTE ]
    should i make those seperate objects and unwrap them seperatly from the cutout, and if i have two identical objects would i just create one than clone it with the uvs?

[/ QUOTE ]