Home General Discussion

Should I be mad or happy?

I am a student at the Art institute of San Diego California. And throughout the quarters Ive gone here Ive seen some good things produced in unreal 2 under our prototyping class. But today I was told that prototyping is no longer going to be done in unreal 2. To much of my shock and displeasure it is not unreal 3 either but flash.

Should I be mad that the school no longer will teach unreal editor and focus on flash games? I know that there are plenty of good flash games out there and that there is a market out there for flash games, but am I wrong for thinking that flash is last gen and engines like epic's unreal 3 are now and things we at the school should be learning?

Replies

• dfacto
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dfacto polycounter lvl 18
    Depends. UE is for the games industry, but flash is infinitely more useful for webwork. I guess it depends what your school is looking to focus on.
  • aesir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18
    My school has a few interactive classes in my animation department. They are all flash.

Flash is good to learn. Lots of freelance work to do with flash. Its also quite capable for quickly animating stuff.

UnrealEd is good to learn to. Sucks your school stopped offering it, but these things happen. Go buy UT3 or roboblitz or Gears of War and learn the Unreal 3 editor on your own time. Go through tutorials and it shouldnt even take you that long to pick up.

The thing about prototyping games is that in flash, you can make an entire game on your own with minimal coding ability. With unreal, you need a badass coder. I assume you're an artist, so stick with learning artsy things and let coders worry about their crazy mods.

Also, flash is not last-gen.
  • Toecutter
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I am killaball's classmate, i had just found out about this at the same time he did.