Home Technical Talk

Watts art material ?

grand marshal polycounter
Offline / Send Message
pior grand marshal polycounter
Hi there

There is something I have been asking myself for a couple of years now and I though I'd simply ask here. Most if not all of us have heard about the Watts Atelier:
http://www.wattsatelier.com/

I think it's a bt of a shame that all Waats students draw in a similar fashion but it's still a solid and remarquable style hence it's fine. This has to be a consequence of the teaching technique -Watts himself draws and shades in that particular manner- but I am mostly wondering about how much this is due to the *materials* used.

Examples below from http://www.phelansykes.com/
First image is a quicksketch, second one is an hour worth of rendering :

4_20minLayIn_03.jpg

4_LongDrawing_03.jpg

What I am talking about is the somehow cloudy yet strong-edged quality of the shaded areas. Most of the light info is already there in the quicksketch - which means that the specific material used here is very easy to lay down, has a blendy quality and can be used in fat, yet regular strokes.

I was thinking charcoal but the sticks I have don't allow for that kind of handling... Full body graphite pens (no wooden part) get closer but don't give the cloudy look. I'm kindof lost here! Plus paper blending sticks give too much of a smooth look, I don't think that's what is used here.
Or maybe it's also due to the paper used? I mostly use a slightly toothed sketchbook for the life classes but maybe they use some kind of smooth paper at Watts? Would make sense somehow.

Any idea?

I whish I could bring diluted china ink at the classes I'm attending atm to splash down shadows with a fat brush but we don't have enough room nor mess-friendly space to do that in our rented room :P

Replies

• MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    I'm pretty sure they're using torchons, the paper blending sticks you mentioned.