Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

opinion on some props please

Hi, making some props for a friend's game and I'm new to crunchin' the polys. The poly limits for each item was 200-femur, 400-axe, and 210-doll so I managed to meet the restrictions for each model, but it was kind of tough.

Any advice on cutting corners or some mistakes I made would be nice, thanks.

stuffaa9.th.jpg

Replies

• indian_boy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    personally i think that the limits are too high. but then again, that's assuming that these objects are never up close to the players pov?

if they're small items that'll be scattered all over the floor, or otherwise far away from the player's view, then u could do with reducing some of those horizontal cuts on the femur and the axe. lots of wasted polies cuz of the excessive horizontal cuts.

oh, and 'welcome to polycount' :grin
  • Flat Tires
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    yikes the counts being to high is the last thing I was hoping to hear tongue.gif. I think the pov is third person. I agree I probably could have taken several cuts out of the axes handle, thanks
  • Ott
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ott polycounter lvl 13
    Unless you are modding for a Super Nintendo, these polycounts are fine. You need to realize that we aren't in the 1980s anymore, and your computer / platform can handle a LOT more polys than it used to. Even modding for a PSP has some impressive limitations. Granted, if these are small small objects, keep the counts low....and you also need to realize that you need to pay attention to traingles, not polygons. A 500 sided polygon might still be 1 polygon, but its hundreds of tris. This is bad.

The biggest limiting factor to your game is going to be texture sizes / amounts / numbers.