Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Character] Link. Learning modeling and texturing.

Hi, I'm fairly new in the game modeling field, and I am encoutering many problems.
I am able to sculpt a high res model but I got so much problem for baking my normal maps.
I'm sure that's because I'm lacking of knowledge, and my low poly mesh is probably crappy.

I'm totally stuck and I don't know what to do, that's why I'm here smile.gif
I am trying to do Link, in a more realistic fashion.
I have done his shield and his sword, and I got the same problem for creating the normal maps, for the sword, I got some little artifact (red dots).
There are some holes in the high poly mesh of Link, on the ribs, but he's wearing a chainmail underneath.
That's the area where I got the more errors, the normal map is not generated here, I got a flat area, even if I tweak my cage.
Here are the models. It's still in progress, but I tried to bake some normal maps at this stage, to see if I was able to do it wink.gif

link_pannel01.jpg
low_poly_link01.jpg
excalibur_shield01.jpg

Replies

• Em.
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Em. polycounter lvl 17
    I'm not 100% on this, but you'll probably get more help with this if you post it in the 2D/3D discussion forum, along with your messed-up normal maps. There's also some good threads to pick through on baking normals and workflow.
  • PrayingMantis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I don't know if the normal map will be helpful, it is really crappy.
    But here are they, for the blade of the sword, and the body.
    I made the normal of the blade with 3Dsmax, and of the body with Xnormals.
    I tried to import a low resolution of my High res mesh in 3dsmax from Zbrush to use it as a template for tweaking my cage, then I imported the cage in Xnormals, but it didn't works well.
    And for the blade I got small little red dots/pixels that I can't get rid off. And my cage doesn't cut the mesh at these point.
    Here are the pix.